Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

At the second meeting after an election, the Chief Minister designate puts forward the elected members they would like to be Ministers. For each ministerial position, other members can also make nominations. In every case, each candidate makes a statement of up to 10 minutes and faces questions for up to 20 minutes.

If there is only one candidate, they are declared the Minister. If there is more than one candidate, there is a vote and elected members choose who they want to be Ministers. It is therefore possible for the Assembly to choose someone as Minister whom the Chief Minister designate did not want.

Once all the Ministers have been chosen, the Council of Ministers is formed. It is at that point that the member chosen as Chief Minister officially takes up the position.

Selection of the Chief Minister and Council of Ministers

John Le FondréSenatorChief MinisterContact information
Lyndon FarnhamSenatorDeputy Chief MinisterMinister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and CultureContact information
Ian GorstSenatorMinister for External RelationsContact information
Richard RenoufDeputyMinister for Health and Social ServicesContact information
Gregory GuidaDeputyMinister for Home AffairsContact information
Russell LabeyDeputyMinister for Housing and CommunitiesContact information
Kevin LewisDeputyMinister for InfrastructureContact information
Carolyn LabeyDeputyMinister for International DevelopmentContact information
Judy MartinDeputyMinister for Social SecurityContact information
John YoungDeputyMinister for the EnvironmentContact information
Susie PinelDeputyMinister for Treasury and ResourcesContact information
Scott WickendenDeputyMinister for Children and EducationAssistant Chief MinisterAssistant Minister for Social SecurityContact information
Back to top
rating button