Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

Members of the Royal Court

​​​​​About the Royal Court

The Royal Court is composed of the Bailiff, Deputy Bailiff and Jurats.

Jurats are appointed by an Electoral College and hold office until the age of 72.


Sir Timothy Le Cocq

Deputy Bailiff​​

Mr Robert MacRae

Jurats of the Royal Court

In order of seniority:

  • Jurat Jane Ronge (Lieutenant Bailiff)
  • Jurat Robert Anthony Christensen MBE (Lieutenant Bailiff)
  • Jurat Eliabeth Anne Dulake
  • Jurat Steven William Austin-Vautier
  • Jurat Joanne Kim Averty
  • Jurat David Gareth Hughes
  • Jurat Karen Dawn Le Cornu
  • Jurat Andrew Lawrence Cornish
  • Jurat David Paul Le Heuzé
  • Jurat Alison Mary Opfermann
  • Jurat Michael Brian Paul Entwistle
  • Jurat Michael James Berry


The Bailiff may also appoint part-time judges known as commissioners to preside over the Royal Court either for a specific case or for a particular period. 

Such judges are often appointed to deal with particularly long cases or where it is otherwise inappropriate for the Bailiff or Deputy Bailiff to sit.

Weekly court lists

Two weeks of detailed scheduling are published each Friday afternoon one week in advance, and are updated/amended as appropriate.

Contact the Bailiff's Judicial Secretary for more information.

Royal Court schedule

A working document setting out all matters that have been booked to come before the court in the months ahead is amended as required on a daily basis.

Contact the Bailiff's Judicial Secretary for more information.

Back to top
rating button