Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

Coronavirus: updated guidance for travellers

17 March 2020

From today (Tuesday, 17 March 2020) the Government of Jersey is introducing new guidance for travellers arriving in Jersey from certain countries in mainland Europe.

This includes the Republic of Ireland, but not the UK. The guidance is that all travellers arriving in Jersey from the countries (listed below) in Europe must now self-isolate for 14 days. This includes travellers who arrive in Jersey from these countries via the UK and applies regardless of whether travellers are displaying flu-like symptoms or not.

During the self-isolation period of 14 days, anyone who develops flu-like symptoms should call the helpline.

This updated advice applies to anyone who arrives in Jersey from these countries from 00:01 hours on Tuesday (17 March).

People are advised not to travel to the Island unless they have the ability to self-isolate for a full 14 days in Jersey.

The new measure, which has been introduced to help contain the spread of the virus, does not apply to essential workers coming to Jersey.

Medical advice has been updated and is constantly under review. This is based on the latest data.

The advice is different for essential workers, as they should not affect our overall containment strategy and their presence in Jersey is very important to help us to keep the Island running.

Chief Minister, Senator John Le Fondré, said: “We have not taken this decision lightly, but to protect our community we feel it is right and proper to put this measure in place.

“Mainland Europe is now the epicentre of the coronavirus and ensuring that anyone coming to Jersey from these countries self-isolates for 14 days is a prudent approach.”

Islanders are advised to only travel off-Island if it is truly essential, such as for medical care, to provide care for vulnerable dependents and for essential business that can’t be undertaken remotely by electronic or other means.

Anyone with symptoms of coronavirus should call the helpline on +44 (0) 1534 445566. The line is open every day from 8am to 8pm.

The countries affected are:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

Back to top
rating button