Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Regional Covid traffic light system for UK, France and Republic of Ireland

28 August 2020

Coronavirus: Update

The UK, France and the Republic of Ireland will be split into regions and categorised under Jersey’s Covid-19 traffic light system, from Wednesday 2 September.

The measures, which have been introduced under the Safer Travel policy, mean that some travellers arriving from regions in France and Ireland will be subject to lesser isolation requirements than is currently the case, while passengers arriving from some areas of the UK will need to follow stricter measures based on the level of risk.

Splitting these jurisdictions into regions, which will be assessed as red, amber and green, means that Jersey can ensure the continued safe opening of its borders and reduce the risk of transmission of Covid-19 within the community.

This regional approach already exists for Madeira, the Spanish Islands and the devolved nations of the UK and will be introduced for France, the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom from 00:01 on Wednesday 2 September.

Regionalisation for France will be applied by department, for the Republic of Ireland by county and for the United Kingdom by upper tier local authority (counties, metropolitan districts, inner and outer London and unitary authorities).

Under the Safer Travel policy, all travellers are required to disclose whether they have or will stay overnight in any country or region other than their point of departure within the 14 days prior to their arrival in Jersey.

Countries and regions will continue to be assessed on a regular basis and changed according to the level of risk. Regions will be risk-assessed using a 14-day notification rate that is calculated directly from each country’s official data sources.

Dr Ivan Muscat, Deputy Medial Officer of Health said: "We ask all travellers arriving to the Island to declare their travel history as required by the Safer Travel Policy. We have expanded our risk-based approach to include regions where reliable and verified data is available.

"Regions within countries where there is a higher level of risk are under stricter testing and isolation requirements, however where there are significantly lower levels of risk, less stringent requirements will be in place.

"We test almost everyone arriving on-Island through our border testing programme, which allows travel in and out of the Island, meaning that families are able to reunite, people can travel for work and we can welcome visitors, while ensuring that the risk of onward transmission remains low."

Back to top
rating button