Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

Country classifications for arrivals in Jersey

02 October 2020

coronavirus info

This week’s changes to Jersey’s Covid classifications of countries and regions take into account the infection rates in the UK, across Europe and around the world.

More regions in France, the North of England and London boroughs are moving from green to amber and amber to red on Jersey’s traffic light system. In England, which is where 95% of Jersey’s air arrivals come from, the new classifications will see red areas encompassing around 3.4 million more people. This mirrors the restrictions introduced in the UK to mitigate the rise in infections there.

There will also be around 3.4 million more people in the extended amber areas. In total, this will see 6.8 million people living in England subject to tighter controls on arrival in Jersey. The changes will come into effect from 00:01 on Wednesday 7 October.

Passengers arriving from a region or country that is classified green are required to take a PCR test on arrival (day 0) and day 5. They are not required to isolate but must:

  • limit time away from the home or from their accommodation 
  • limit social contact with others  
  • adhere to one metre physical distancing  
  • avoid public transport, where possible  
  • avoid indoor gatherings, including bars and restaurants, where possible 
  • follow good hand and respiratory hygiene and remain vigilant for any known symptoms.

Passengers arriving from a country or region classified amber are required to take a PCR test on arrival (day 0) and on day 5, and must isolate until they receive a negative result from their day 5 test.

Passengers arriving from a country or region classified as red are required to take a PCR test on arrival (day 0) and must then isolate for 14 days.

Countries will continue to be assessed using a number of measures. Regional classification will solely be assessed on the 14-day notification rate.

List of countries and regions

Back to top
rating button