Council of Ministers

(42nd Meeting)

29th April 2025

Part A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exceptions of Connétable A.N. Jehan of St. John, Minister for Infrastructure, and Deputies C.F. Labey of Grouville and St. Martin, Minister for International Development, I.J. Gorst of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Minister for External Relations, K.F. Morel of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Sustainable Economic Development, and R.J. Ward of St. Helier Central, Minister for Education and Lifelong Learning, from whom apologies had been received.

Deputy L.J. Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Chief Minister Connétable R. Vibert of St. Peter, Minister for Children and Families Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat of St. Helier North, Minister for Justice and Home Affairs

Deputy R.J. Ward of St. Helier Central, Minister for Education and Lifelong Learning

Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier South, Minister for Housing

Deputy L.V. Feltham of St. Helier Central, Minister for Social Security

Deputy M.E. Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Treasury and Resources

Deputy T.J.A. Binet of St. Saviour, Minister for Health and Social Services

In attendance -

Connétable A.S. Crowcroft of St. Helier, Assistant Chief Minister (for Items A1 -B5 only)

Deputy B. Ward of St. Clement, Assistant Minister for Health and Social Services

Deputy M. R. Ferey of St. Saviour, Assistant Chief Minister

Deputy C.S. Alves of St. Helier Central, Assistant Chief Minister

Deputy M.R. Scott of St. Brelade, Assistant Minister for Sustainable Economic Development

Deputy R.E. Binet of Grouville and St. Martin, Assistant Minister for Health and Social Services (for a time)

M.H. Temple, K.C., H.M. Attorney General

L.-M. Hart, Greffier of the States

Dr. A. McLaughlin, Chief Executive and Head of the Public Service, Government of Jersey

K. Whitehead, Group Director of Regulation, Infrastructure and Environment Department (for Item B1 only)

N. Day, Head of Strategic Housing and Regeneration, Cabinet Office (for Item B3 only)

R. Bell, Treasurer of the States (for Item B4 only)

A. Hacquoil, Group Director, Strategic Finance, Treasury and Exchequer (for Item B4 only)

	R. Johnson, Head of Health Policy, Cabinet Office (for Item B5 only)P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial OfficeS. Nibbs, Senior Secretariat Officer, States Greffe
	Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Parts A and B.
Minutes.	A1. The Minutes of the meeting of 8th April 2025 (Parts A and B), having previously been circulated, were taken as read and were confirmed, subject to the substitution of the word "Council" for "Committee" on page 641 of part B of the Minutes.
Declarations of interest.	A2. No declarations of interest were received in connexion with any of the items discussed at the current meeting.
Forthcoming business.	A3. The Council discussed the following item of public business, which was scheduled to be considered at the meeting of the States Assembly on 13th May 2025:
	 Draft Jersey Gas Company Amendment Law 202- (P.22/2025), lodged by Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat, Minister for Justice and Home Affairs, and Road Traffic: offences and penalties (P.23/2025), lodged by Deputy C.D. Curtis of St. Helier Central, and Draft Elections (Electoral Registers) (Jersey) Amendment Law 202- (P.27/2025), lodged by the Privileges and Procedures Committee (PPC) on 1st April 2025, and Social rents plan to reduce rental stress for tenants (P.29/2025), lodged by Deputy R.S. Kovacs of St. Saviour, and Review of the impact of increases to the Minimum Wage on the recruitment and retention of trainees (P.32/2025), lodged by Deputy M.B. Andrews of St. Helier North, and Chief Minister Poll (P.33/2025), lodged by Deputy K.L. Moore of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter.