Council of Ministers

(2nd Meeting)

(Business conducted via electronic mail)

22nd February 2024

Part A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Connétable R. Vibert of St. Peter, Minister for Children and Education, Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville and St. Martin, Minister for International Development, Deputy K.F. Morel of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Sustainable Economic Development, Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat of St. Helier North, Minister for Justice and Home Affairs, Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier South, Minister for Housing and Communities and Deputy T.J.A. Binet of St. Saviour, Minister for Health and Social Services, from whom apologies had been received.

Deputy L.J. Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Chief Minister Connétable A.N. Jehan of St. John, Minister for Infrastructure Deputy S.G. Luce of Grouville and St. Martin, Minister for the Environment Deputy I.J. Gorst of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, Minister for External Relations

Deputy L.V. Feltham of St. Helier Central, Minister for Social Security Deputy E.M. Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity, Minister for Treasury and Resources

In attendance -

P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial Office K.L. Slack, Secretariat Officer, States Greffe

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only

Cabinet Office Expenditure Savings (P.8/2024): Comment. A1. The Council, with reference to its Minute No. B4 of 20th February 2024, recalled that it had decided to present a Comment on the Proposition of Deputy M.B. Andrews of St. Helier North, entitled 'Cabinet Office Expenditure Savings' (P.8/2024 referred).

The Council accordingly received and noted a draft Comment, which it approved and requested officers to liaise with the Greffier of the States to arrange for it to be presented to the States Assembly.