COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

(118th Meeting)

18th May 2021

PART A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Senator L.J. Farnham, Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture, Senator I.J. Gorst, Minister for External Relations and Financial Services and Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement, Minister for Home Affairs, from whom apologies had been received.

Senator J.A.N Le Fondré, Chief Minister

Deputy R.J. Renouf of St. Ouen, Minister for Health and Social Services

Deputy R. Labey of St. Helier, Minister for Housing and Communities

Deputy J. H. Young of St. Brelade, Minister for the Environment (for items A1, B1, part of B2 and B5 only)

Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour, Minister for Infrastructure

Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville, Minister for International Development

Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier, Minister for Social Security

Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement, Minister for Treasury and Resources

Deputy S.M. Wickenden of St. Helier, Assistant Chief Minister and Assistant Minister for Children and Education

Deputy K.F. Morel of St. Lawrence, Assistant Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture

Deputy G.C.U. Guida of St. Lawrence, Assistant Minister for Home Affairs

In attendance -

Connétable R.A. Buchanan of St. Ouen, Assistant Chief Minister

Deputy R.E. Huelin of St. Peter, Assistant Chief Minister

M.H. Temple, Q.C., H.M. Attorney General

P. Martin, Interim Chief Executive and Head of Public Service, Government of Jersey

Dr. M. Egan, Greffier of the States

R. Bell, Treasurer of the States (for item B2 only)

T. Walker, Director General, Strategic Policy, Planning and Performance Department

M. Rogers, Director General, Children, Young People, Education and Skills Department (for items B1 – B3 only)

V. Bell, Legal Advisor, Law Officers' Department (for item B4 only)

M. Grimley, Group Director, People and Corporate Services, Chief Operating Office (for item B2 only)

A. Rogers, Group Director, Strategic Finance, Treasury and Exchequer

K. Briden, Group Director, Public Protection and Law Enforcement, Justice and Home Affairs Department (for part of item B1 only)

- T. Daniels, Director Jersey Property Holdings, Infrastructure, Housing and Environment Department
- P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial Offices, Office of the Chief Executive A. de Bourcier, Head of Environmental and Consumer Protection, Infrastructure, Housing and Environment Department (for part of item B1 only)

- S. Peat, Director, Digital and Telecoms Policy, Office of the Chief Executive (for item B4 only)
- S. Duhamel, Head of Policy, Strategic Policy, Planning and Performance Department (for part of item B1 only)
- A. Heaven, Head of Policy, Strategic Policy, Planning and Performance Department (for item B3 only)
- L. Perez, Head of Internal Communications, Office of the Chief Executive
- M. Pews, Telecoms Policy Advisor, Office of the Chief Executive (for item B4 only)
- F. Cleworth, Private Secretary to the Minister for International Development
- M-C. Hannigan, Private Secretary to the Minister for Children and Education, Office of the Chief Executive
- C. Rondel, Private Secretary to the Minister for Infrastructure
- S. Nibbs, Temporary Secretariat Officer, States Greffe (for items A1, B1 and part of item B2 only)
- K.L. Slack, Clerk to the Council of Ministers

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A and Part B.

Minutes.

A1. The Minutes of the meetings of the Council of Ministers held on 24th March (Part A only), 30th March (Part A and Part B), 31st March (Part A and Part B) and 1st April 2021 (Part A and Part B), having previously been circulated, were taken as read and were confirmed. Senator J.A.N. Le Fondré, Chief Minister, provided some clarity in respect of the wording of part of Minute No. B3 of the latter meeting.