# **COUNCIL OF MINISTERS**

(24th Meeting)

#### 12th June 2019

# PART A (Non-Exempt)

# All members were present.

Senator J.A.N Le Fondré, Chief Minister

Senator L.J. Farnham, Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Economic

Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture

Senator S.Y. Mézec, Minister for Children and Housing

Senator T.A. Vallois, Minister for Education

Deputy J. Young, Minister for the Environment

Senator I.J. Gorst, Minister for External Relations

Deputy R.J. Renouf of St. Ouen, Minister for Health and Social Services

Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement, Minister for Home Affairs

Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour, Minister for Infrastructure

Deputy C.F. Labey, Minister for International Development

Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier, Minister for Social Security (not present for items B4-B5)

Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement, Minister for Treasury and Resources Deputy S.M. Wickenden of St. Helier, Assistant Minister for Social Security (items B4-B5 only)

# In attendance -

Connétable C.H. Taylor, Assistant Chief Minister

Connétable R. A. Buchanan, Assistant Chief Minister

C. Parker, Chief Executive, States of Jersey

Dr. M. Egan, Greffier of the States

R.J. MacRae, Q.C., H.M. Attorney General

R. Bell, Treasurer of the States

P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial Support, Office of the Chief Executive

T. Walker, Director General for Strategic Policy, Performance and Population

S. Skelton, Director, Strategy and Innovation; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (item B1 only)

F. Glover, Assistant Director; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (item B1 only)

Dr. L. Magris, Director of Environmental Policy; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (item B1 and part of item B2 only)

S. Duhamel, Director; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (part of item B2 only)

K. Morel, Policy Principal; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (part of item B2 only)

- J. Rogers, Director General for Growth, Housing and Environment (part of item B2 only)
- T. Dodd, Director of Transport; Growth, Housing and Environment (part of item B2 only)

21524th Meeting12.06.19

J. Laverick, Interim Chief Information Officer; Chief Operating Office

(item B3 only)

D. Tidd, Technology Transformation Lead; EY (item B3 only)

M. Clark, Clerk to the Council of Ministers

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A and Part B.

Minutes.

A1. The Minutes of the Meeting of 8th May 2019 (Part A and Part B) having previously been circulated, were taken as read and were confirmed.

Liberation Day and VE Day 2020. 316/99(1) A2. The Council noted that the U.K. and Guernsey had decided to move the early May Bank Holiday in 2020 from Monday 4th May to Friday 8th May, in order to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of Victory in Europe (VE) Day.

As the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of the Channel Islands fell on the following day, the Council considered that this offered the possibility for an additional public holiday in 2020, given the importance of the 75th Anniversary of VE Day. The Council therefore decided that Friday 8th May should, subject to the agreement of the States Assembly, be designated as a public holiday (in addition to Monday 4th May and Saturday 9th May, which would both remain public holidays) in order to mark this significant milestone in the Island's history.

The Council accordingly agreed that an appropriate proposition should be lodged 'au Greffe' for consideration by the States Assembly, at the earliest opportunity, and directed officers to take the necessary action.