COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

(31st Meeting)

18th September 2019

PART A (Non-Exempt)

All members were present, with the exception of Senator S.Y. Mézec, Minister for Children and Housing and Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement, Minister for Home Affairs, from whom apologies had been received.

Senator J.A.N Le Fondré, Chief Minister Senator L.J. Farnham, Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture Senator T.A. Vallois, Minister for Education Deputy J. Young, Minister for the Environment Senator I.J. Gorst, Minister for External Relations Deputy R.J. Renouf of St. Ouen, Minister for Health and Social Services Deputy K.C. Lewis of St. Saviour, Minister for Infrastructure Deputy C.F. Labey, Minister for International Development Deputy J.A. Martin of St. Helier, Minister for Social Security Deputy S.J. Pinel of St. Clement, Minister for Treasury and Resources

In attendance -

Connétable C.H. Taylor, Assistant Chief Minister Connétable R. A. Buchanan, Assistant Chief Minister Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour, Assistant Minister for Education (part of item B1 only) C. Parker, Chief Executive, States of Jersey Dr. M. Egan, Greffier of the States R.J. MacRae, Q.C., H.M. Attorney General P. Bradbury, Head of Ministerial Support, Office of the Chief Executive T. Walker, Director General for Strategic Policy, Performance and Population Dr. M. Mathias, Group Director, Policy; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (items A2 and B3 only) S. Skelton, Director, Strategy and Innovation; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (items B2 and B3 only) S. Duhamel, Policy and Strategy Director, Customer and Local Services (item B3 only) L. Jones, Environmental Policy Officer; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population (item B2 only) J. Quinn, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Operating Office (item B4 only) J. Williams, Director of Business Change, Chief Operating Office, (item B4 only) R. Bell, Director General, Treasury and Exchequer and Treasurer of the States (item B5 only) M. Clark, Clerk to the Council of Ministers

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A and Part B.

256 31st Meeting 18.09.19

Minutes.

International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance – definition of antisemitism. A1. The Minutes of the meeting of 10th July 2019, (Part A and Part B) having previously been circulated, were taken as read and were confirmed.

A2. The Council, with the Group Director – Policy; Strategic Policy, Performance and Population in attendance, considered the adoption of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) definition of antisemitism.

The Council was informed that the IHRA Plenary, comprising 33 nations, had adopted the following definition of antisemitism in 2016:

'Antisemitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities.'

The definition was followed by 11 examples of behaviours which had been held by the Plenary to constitute antisemitism.

The Council was advised that 9 other jurisdictions, including the United Kingdom, (U.K.) had adopted the definition in the period since 2016. Within the U.K., various other bodies, including the City of London, the Crown Prosecution Service and the National Executive of the Labour Party had also adopted the definition.

The Council recalled that a media release, confirming that the IHRA definition had not yet been considered by the Government, had been issued in August 2018. The Chief Minister reminded the meeting that this statement had been misconstrued by certain sections of the media, and it had been reported that Government of Jersey had rejected the definition; accordingly it was deemed appropriate for the Council to now consider the matter.

It was agreed that the Council should either adopt or reject the IHRA definition in its entirety and that a partial adoption (whereby it was sought to exclude or amend some of the examples) was unworkable.

The Council noted that the Minister for Children and Housing, Senator S.Y. Mézec, was unable to attend the meeting, but had communicated his dissent via electronic mail. Senator Mézec cautioned against the wholesale adoption of the IHRA definition; the Senator considered that, whilst this would be a well-meaning action, it could have unintended consequences and he expressed concern that some elements of the definition could inhibit legitimate political discussions on the situation in Israel.

The Assistant Chief Minister, Connétable C.H. Taylor of St. John, also declined to support adopting the definition, considering that antisemitism should be addressed by discrimination legislation.

Other than the Minister for Children and Housing and the Assistant Chief Minister, who asked that their dissent be recorded and the Minister for the Environment, Deputy J.H. Young of St. Brelade, who abstained, the Council agreed that the IHRA definition of antisemitism should be adopted.

Officers were requested to take the necessary action.