Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Assistant Ministers announced

25 November 2011

The Chief Minister has approved the appointment of 14 Assistant Ministers and has announced that the Home Affairs Minister, Senator Ian Le Marquand, will be Deputy Chief Minister.

Senator Gorst said “It has become apparent to me in the last two weeks that changes are needed in the machinery of government. In the medium term, the system needs to be amended to allow more States Members to be involved in the decision making process. I plan to meet the Privileges and Procedures Committee to discuss how the Council of Ministers can work with PPC to facilitate that change.

“In the short term I have asked Ministers to consider whether they have any work streams that could be tackled by working parties, which could include a cross section of States Members, not just ministers and assistant ministers.”

Senator Gorst will, in due course, present a report to the States Assembly setting out the responsibilities of Ministers and their Assistant Ministers.


Assistant Minister(s)

Chief Minister

Senator Ian Gorst

Senator Paul Routier

Senator Sir Philip Bailhache

Minister for Economic Development
Senator Alan Maclean

Deputy Caroline Labey

Deputy James Baker 

Minister for Education, Sport and Culture

Deputy Patrick Ryan

Deputy Rod Bryans

Deputy Roy Le Hérissier

Minister for Health and Social Services

Deputy Anne Pryke

Connétable John Refault

Deputy Judy Martin

Minister for Home Affairs

Senator Ian Le Marquand

Senator Lyndon Farnham

Minister for Housing

Deputy Andrew Green

Connétable John Refault


Minister for Planning and Environment

Deputy Robert Duhamel

Deputy Caroline Labey

Minister for Social Security

Senator Francis Le Gresley

Deputy Susan Pinel

Minister for Transport and Technical Services

Deputy Kevin Lewis

Deputy John Le Fondré

Minister for Treasury and Resources

Senator Philip Ozouf

Deputy Edward Noel

Back to top
rating button