Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

New Chief Minister elected

15 November 2011

Senator Ian Gorst has been elected as the Island's Chief Minister designate.

States members elected Senator Gorst in an open ballot on Monday 14 November 2011. Senator Gorst received 27 votes, while Senator Philip Bailhache received 24 votes. Senator Gorst will become Chief Minister as soon as all 9 ministers have been appointed by the States Assembly.

Members voted as follows:

Members voting for Senator Bailhache
(24 votes)
Members voting for Senator Gorst
(27 votes)
Senator P.F.C. Ozouf
Senator A. Breckon
Senator A.J.H. Maclean
Senator L.J. Farnham
Senator P.M. Bailhache
Connétable A.S. Crowcroft of St Hélier
Connétable J. Le S. Gallichan of Trinity
Connétable D.J. Murphy of Grouville
Connétable L. Norman of St Clément
Connétable J.M. Refault of St Peter
Connétable P.J. Rondel of St John
Connétable M.J. Paddock of St Ouen
Connétable S.A. Rennard of St Saviour
Deputy C.F. Labey
Deputy S.S.P.A. Power
Deputy E.J. Noel
Deputy P.J Ryan
Deputy J.P.G. Baker
Deputy J.H. Young
Deputy S.J. Pinel
Deputy J.M. Le Bailly
Deputy S.G. Luce
Deputy R.G. Bryans
Deputy K.L. Moore
Senator P.F. Routier
Senator S.C. Ferguson
Senator B.I. Le Marquand
Senator F. du H. Le Gresley
Senator I.J. Gorst
Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St Lawrence
Connétable J. Gallichan of St Mary
Connétable S. Pallett of St Brelade
Connétable M. Le Troquer of St Martin
Deputy R.C. Duhamel
Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier
Deputy J.A. Martin
Deputy G.P. Southern
Deputy J.G. Reed
Deputy J.A. Hilton
Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré
Deputy A.E. Pryke
Deputy S. Pitman
Deputy K.C. Lewis
Deputy M. Tadier
Deputy T.M. Pitman
Deputy T.A. Vallois
Deputy M.R. Higgins
Deputy A.K.F. Green
Deputy J.M. Maçon
Deputy G.C.L. Baudains
Deputy R.J. Rondel

The elections will continue into next week as the majority of appointments have yet to be made.

On Wednesday 16 November 2011, Senator Gorst will announce the 9 members that he intends to nominate as ministers. The following day, the States will elect all 9 ministers, the chairmen of the Privileges and Procedures Committee and the Public Accounts Committee; and the chairmen of each of the Scrutiny panels.

The States will reconvene on Tuesday 22 November 2011 to elect the members of each of the committees and panels, as well as the President of the Chairmen's Committee.
Back to top
rating button