Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Assistant ministers appointed

12 November 2014

​The ministers in Jersey’s new government have now appointed their assistant ministers, with the approval of the Chief Minister.

Senator Ian Gorst said “Ministers have selected the right team to face the coming challenges. We want to see a successful and cohesive community, where we support education and training, economic growth, jobs, affordable homes, good health and a secure retirement. I believe this team of ministers and assistant ministers can work successfully together to achieve these fundamental goals.”

Senator Gorst has appointed the Health and Social Services Minister, Senator Andrew Green MBE, as Deputy Chief Minister.

The assistant ministers appointed are as follows: 

​Minister​Assistant minister(s)
​Chief Minister ​​Senator I.J. Gorst ​​Senator P.F. Routier MBE
​Senator P.F.C. Ozouf
​Economic Development ​​Senator L.J. Farnham ​​Connétable S.W. Pallett of St Brelade
​Deputy M.J. Norton of St Brelade
​External Relations​Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache
​Education, Sport and Culture​Deputy R.G. Bryans of St Helier​Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache
​Health and Social Services ​Senator A.K.F. Green, MBE ​Connétable J.M. Refault of St Peter
​Deputy P.D. McLinton of St Saviour
​Home Affairs​Deputy K.L. Moore of St Peter​Connétable D.W. Mezbourian of St Lawrence
​Housing​Deputy A.E. Pryke of Trinity
​Planning and Environment​Deputy S.G. Luce of St Martin​Connétable S.W. Pallett of St Brelade
​Social Security​Deputy S.J. Pinel of St Clement​Deputy G.J. Truscott of St Brelade
​Transport and Technical Services​Deputy E.J. Noel of St Lawrence​Deputy R.J. Rondel of St Helier
​Treasury and Resources​Senator A.H. Maclean​Deputy T.A. Vallois of St John

Interim arrangements

As the Chief Minister is proposing to transfer a number of functions between ministerial portfolios and to create a new ministerial office, interim arrangements are needed to ensure ministerial work continues in the meantime.

This means the following members will act as assistant ministers until the changes proposed by the Chief Minister have been considered and approved by the States Assembly:

​Minister ​​Assistant minister(s)
​Economic Development ​ ​​Senator L.J. Farnham ​ ​​Deputy S.G. Luce of St Martin (pending transfer of fisheries)
​Senator P.F.C Ozouf (pending transfer of digital, competition and innovation)
​Deputy R.G. Bryans of St Helier (pending transfer of skills)
​Education, Sport and Culture ​​Deputy R.G. Bryans of St Helier ​​Connétable S.W. Pallett of St Brelade (pending transfer of sport)
​Senator L.J. Farnham (pending transfer of culture)
​Planning and Environment​Deputy S.G. Luce of St Martin​Senator L.J. Farnham (pending transfer of agriculture)
​Treasury and Resources​Senator A.J.H. Maclean​Deputy E.J. Noel of St Lawrence (pending transfer of Jersey Property Holdings)

The Chief Minister will present a report to the States Assembly setting out the responsibilities of ministers and their assistant ministers.

Back to top
rating button