Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

Assistant Ministers are announced

15 June 2018

The Chief Minister, Senator John Le Fondré, has announced the names of the States Members who will serve as Assistant Ministers in the new government.

Senator Le Fondré has appointed three Assistant Ministers to the Chief Minister - Connétable Christopher Taylor, Connétable Richard Buchanan and Deputy Carolyn Labey. He says he will create a new Ministerial role with responsibility for the Island’s international development work, for which he will nominate Deputy Carolyn Labey.

As previously indicated, the Chief Minister also intends to establish a Minister for Children, for which he will be nominating Senator Sam Mézec.

Responsibility for Financial Services will be transferred to the Minister for External Relations, and Connétable Buchanan has been appointed Assistant Minister at External Relations to support that work.

Senator Le Fondré said “These appointments ensure that we are building experience for the future and promoting closer communication and cooperation between portfolios and across Government, which is one of my key objectives.

“I will soon present a full report to the States Assembly, setting out the responsibilities of Ministers and their Assistant Ministers. In the coming months I will be reviewing the existing portfolios to assess whether they meet the needs of our strategic priorities and of the planned changes to the public sector structure.

“I look forward to working together with my colleagues in the interests of all Islanders.”​

MinisterAssistant Minister(s)

Chief Minister

Senator John Le Fondré

Connétable Christopher Taylor of St John

Connétable Richard Buchanan of St Ouen

Deputy Carolyn Labey of Grouville

Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture

Senator Lyndon Farnham

Senator Steve Pallett

Deputy Montfort Tadier of St Brelade

Minister for External Relations

Senator Ian Gorst

Connétable Richard Buchanan of St Ouen

Minister for Education

Senator Tracey Vallois

Deputy Jeremy Maҫon of St Saviour

Senator Sam Mézec

Deputy Montfort Tadier of St Brelade

Minister for Environment

Deputy John Young of St Brelade

Deputy Gregory Guida of St Lawrence

Minister for Health and Social Services

Deputy Richard Renouf of St Ouen

Deputy Hugh Raymond of Trinity

Deputy Jeremy Maҫon of St Saviour

Senator Steve Pallett

Minister for Home Affairs

Connétable Len Norman of St Clement

Deputy Gregory Guida of St Lawrence

Minister for Housing

Senator Sam Mézec


Minister for Infrastructure

Deputy Kevin Lewis of St Saviour

Deputy Hugh Raymond of Trinity

Minister for Social Security

Deputy Judith Martin of St Helier

Deputy Geoff Southern of St Helier

Deputy Jeremy Maҫon of St Saviour

Minister for Treasury and Resources

Deputy Susie Pinel of St Clement

Deputy Lindsay Ash of St Clement

Back to top
rating button