Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Private marine vessels

​Post-Brexit travel preparations for private marine vessels

French authorities have given advice on the requirements for private boat owners in the case of a ‘No deal’ Brexit.

On their first arrival in France from Jersey, vessels are required to clear Customs and Immigration at a designated port of arrival. The requirement will be to notify the port authority at that designated port of their arrival. The port authority will notify the relevant border officials.

If, in exceptional circumstances, a vessel’s first port of arrival is not a designated port, that port authority must be notified to allow entry.

The designated ports (Points de Passage Frontalier or PPF) relevant to the Channel Islands are Brest, Carteret, Cherbourg, Granville, Roscoff, St Brieuc and St Malo.

For more information contact the relevant French port authority.

The EU have published guidance on a list of border crossings in the Official Journal of the EU (refer to page 21 on this notice).

Visiting private marine vessels

Visiting mariners may only disembark in Jersey at the ports of St Helier and Gorey.

If any of the following apply, a yellow ‘Q’ flag must be flown on arrival and declaration form JCE112 completed:

  • the vessel has arrived from outside the European Economic Area
  • there are non-European Economic Area nationals on board
  • there are goods to declare (including prohibited and restricted items)

European Economic Area (EEA) Nationals are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia,
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland*
  • United Kingdom 

*Switzerland is not in the EEA but an international treaty gives Swiss nationals similar rights as EEA nationals within the United Kingdom.

Read further information about duty free allowances.

More information about Jersey Harbours is on the Ports of Jersey website.

Back to top
rating button