Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.
Government of

Information and public services for the Island of Jersey

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Coronavirus: update for travellers

25 February 2020


Advice from Public Health England (PHE) has been updated to ask people arriving from any of the Northern Italian towns under specific containment measures (see below for details) to stay at home and isolate themselves from other people for 14 days, even if they have no flu-like symptoms.

PHE has updated its list of Category 1 countries. They are asking travellers to self-isolate on their return from these countries for 14 days even if they have no symptoms. This list now includes Iran and any Italian town under special measures.

In addition, this list in Jersey has been adapted to include the whole of mainland China (not just Hubei) and the whole of South Korea, not just special containment areas.


A helpline (01534) 445566 is available for anybody in Jersey who is concerned that they may have symptoms of Coronavirus. The line is open between 8.30am and 11pm. Islanders who contact the number outside of these times, or who phone and the line is busy, can leave a message and their call will be returned.

Consultant Microbiologist, Dr Ivan Muscat, said: "Our clinicians are working hard to prevent the spread of coronavirus, and we can all play our part by following advice. We should self-isolate where appropriate, call the helpline and not turn up unannounced at the GP's surgery or Emergency Department, and practice basic hygiene.

"Washing hands regularly, ensuring surface and touch-surface hygiene, and using tissues when we cough and sneeze plays a critical role in minimising the spread of viruses like this."

Islanders who develop a fever, a cough or difficulty breathing within 14 days of travel from countries affected by Coronavirus (COVID -19) should call the helpline for assistance and to arrange testing.

People are reminded that they should self-isolate and not attend the Emergency Department or their GP surgery unannounced.

The countries affected by Coronavirus are

  • Northern Italy (specific areas as designated by the government of Italy)
  • Mainland China
  • Iran
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Japan
  • Hong Kong
  • Taiwan
  • Singapore
  • Malaysia
  • Macau
  • Vietnam
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Myanmar

Anyone arriving in Jersey from the specific towns locked down in Northern Italy, from mainland China, Iran or South Korea should self-isolate for 14 days after their arrival, whether or not they have symptoms.

People who have travelled from an affected country and feel very unwell, should call an ambulance and state their travel history, but they are asked not to go to the GP or the Emergency Department without contacting them first.

Hygiene measures

Simple hygiene practices can reduce the spread of viruses. Islanders are reminded to:

  • always carry tissues and use them to catch coughs and sneezes, and bin the tissue
  • wash hands with soap and water, or use sanitiser gel, to kill germs
  • ensure surface and touch surface hygiene.

Up to date information about Coronavirus

Italian towns under special containment measures

The government of Italy introduced extraordinary measures that allow regions to implement civil protection measures in response to Coronavirus. This includes the isolation of 10 small towns in Lombardy:

  • Codogno
  • Castiglione d'Adda
  • Casalpusterlengo
  • Fombio
  • Maleo
  • Somaglia
  • Bertonico
  • Terranova dei Passerini
  • Castelgerundo
  • San Fiorano)

And one town in Veneto:

  • Vo' Euganeo.

The regions of Lombardy, Veneto, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Piemonte and Emilia Romagna have announced measures that include the suspension of events, the suspension of schools and higher education, and the suspension of the opening of museums and other cultural institutions for seven days. 

Back to top
rating button