Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
This website is not compatible with your web browser. You should install a newer browser. If you live in Jersey and need help upgrading call the States of Jersey web team on 440099.

L'înformâtion et les sèrvices publyis pouor I'Île dé Jèrri

  • Choose the service you want to log in to:


    Update your notification preferences


    Access government and parish services


    Clear goods through customs or claim relief

  • Talentlink

    View or update your States of Jersey job application

Current healthy eating guidelines

​The five food groups

You should eat sensibly, choosing a range of foods from the five food groups in the correct proportions:

  • bread, rice, potatoes, pasta and other starchy foods
  • milk and dairy products
  • food and drinks high in fat and / or sugar
  • meat, fish, eggs, beans and other non dairy sources of protein
  • fruit and vegetables

Eat well

This means:

  • basing meals and snacks on starchy foods such as bread, potatoes, rice, pasta, noodles and cereal
  • avoiding adding fat or using it in cooking
  • having at least 5 portions of fruit and vegetables each day. They can be fresh, frozen, tinned or dried. Fruit juice, beans and pulses count but only once a day
  • having 2 - 3 portions of dairy foods each day. A portion is a small pot of yoghurt or 30g of cheese or 1/3 pint of milk. Try to have reduced fat versions such as fat-free yoghurt, cottage cheese or Edam cheese, skimmed or semi-skimmed milk
  • choosing moderate amounts of fish, meat and pulses. Avoid frying and remove the skin from chicken and excess fat from meat
  • eating foods containing fat and sugar sparingly. Try to have reduced fat / sugar products
The eatwell plate from the Food Standards Agency shows the recommended amounts you should be eating from each food group.

​Downlad the Eatwell Guide from ​GOV.UK ​website (size 7.84mb)

Back to top
rating button